top of page
  • Writer's pictureGriffin McVeigh

I apologize for picking the Mets to win the NL East

I have never felt like a bigger idiot in my life.


Here is my prediction back in March:

What was I thinking? These are the New York Mets. They were never going to ever win anything. It is not even July 1 and the Mets are done.


Going into the bottom of the ninth up 3-1 the Mets sent out closer Edwin Diaz to shut down what seemed to be a surefire win. Soon thereafter Jean Segura is hitting a walk off three-run bomb to left field, to win the game for the Phillies 6-3.


Final stat line for Diaz today: 0.1 IP, 3 H, 5 ER, 2 BB. This is apparently the guy I said would turn the Mets around.


After starting 3-3 on their latest road trip, the Mets end it with five straight losses, including getting swept in four games by the Phillies. The same Phillies that were swept by the Miami Marlins the week before.


Robinson Cano is now hitting .223 and has an OBP under .275. Wilson Ramos is hitting 30 points lower than he was last year and has not been the same offensive threat he was for the Rays and Phillies last year. Add Diaz to the mix, and the players I said would turn the Mets around have been utter disasters.


I apologize for ever thinking the Mets would do anything of significance. I promise it will never happen again. At eight games below .500, they should just pray 2020 is somewhat better.

3 views
bottom of page